UTM investment team earns TVA award

The UT Martin TVA Investment Challenge students attended TVA’s annual spring conference April 2-3 in Nashville. 

While attending the conference, students were able to engage with portfolio management professionals, senior leadership at the Tennessee Valley Authority and peer students from other universities. 

The UTM TVA program received an award for its portfolio performance in 2023 at the conference as well, outperforming the portfolio’s S&P 500 benchmark. This award, while presented at the conference, also represents a monetary award that continues to fund investments related to student experiential learning in the College of Business and Global Affairs. 

While at the conference, the program’s UTM presentation team of Alex Bowker, Jake Harrison, Maria Hudson, Courtney Pemberton and Connor Williams presented the portfolio’s 2023 and year-to-date 2024 performance to fellow competitors from other schools and senior TVA leadership. 

The students defended their trading decisions, answered questions and discussed opportunities for growth and change with various members of TVA’s leadership team. 

The TVA Investment Challenge Program is an experiential learning opportunity at UTM funded by the Tennessee Valley Authority. Students in the program manage a $500,000 large-cap equity fund and are benchmarked against the S&P 500 just like professional money managers. 

The portfolio is funded as part of TVA’s retirement trust. UTM has participated in the program since its inception in the early 2000s. 

The current student managers are outperforming the S&P 500 year-to-date in 2024. 

Dr. Mahmoud Haddad,assistant professor of finance, attended the conference with the students as the program’s senior faculty advisor, and Dr. Brittany Cole, assistant professor of finance, is the program’s junior faculty advisor.

PHOTO: Shown at the Tennessee Valley Authority’s spring conference April 2-3 in Nashville are (front row, L-R) Dr. Mahmoud Haddad, Connor Williams, Alex Bowker, Maria Hudson, Kassidy Gresham, Kayla Potete, (back row, L-R) Courtney Pemberton, Jake Harrison, Archie Scott, Aaron Bartholomew and Oliver Cloyd.

Previous Story

UT Martin University Scholars honored

Next Story

2024 WestTeach class selected