UT Martin communications students recognized during SEJC 2020

Students from the University of Tennessee at Martin’s student newspaper, The Pacer, and student-run radio station, WUTM-FM 90.3 “The Hawk,” competed during the 34th annual Southeast Journalism Conference held Feb. 13-15 in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, and brought home numerous awards for the Department of Communications.

The students competed in on-site competitions and for the title of “Best of South” in their respective categories from previously submitted work against 30 colleges representing seven Southeastern states. WUTM ranked first in the “Best College and Audio Newscast” category for the fifth consecutive year and third in “Best College Radio Station.” The Pacer ranked fourth in “Best College Newspaper” and 10th in “Best College Website.”

The UT Martin students who placed individually in the Best of South competition are as follows:

  • Best Radio News Reporter: Kevin Bartholomew, a 2019 graduate from South Fulton, first place;
  • Best Advertising Staff Member: Jessica Davis, a senior from Bells, second place;
  • Best Arts and Entertainment Writer: Emily Wilson, a senior from Lawrenceburg, fourth place;
  • Best Radio News Feature Reporter: Jillianne Moncrief, a senior from McLemoresville, fourth place;
  • College Journalist of the Year: Sarah Knapp, a 2019 graduate from Moscow, seventh place;
  • Best Arts and Entertainment Writer: Hannah Hughes, a sophomore from Paris, ninth place.

In the on-site competition, students competed in journalism-based exercises to test their knowledge and media skills. The UT Martin students who placed in the SEJC 2020 On-site competitions are as follows:

  • Media Law and Ethics: Jason Repath, a senior from White House, first place;
  • Arts and Entertainment Writing: Antonia Steele, a junior from Ashland City, third place.

“Our students continue to do well at the conference. They did a great job again this year,” said Dr. Richard Robinson, professor of Communications and WUTM faculty adviser.

Tomi McCutchen, coordinator of student publications and instructor of communications, was reelected as acting secretary during the SEJC business meeting and is the UT Martin faculty delegate for the convention.

“I’m so proud of our award-winning students from The Pacer and WUTM, as well as those who excelled in on-site individual competition in other media areas,” said Dr. Robert Nanney, chair of the Department of Communications. “They and their faculty mentors represent our department and UT Martin with distinction.”

For more information, contact McCutchen at tomimc@utm.edu, Robinson at rrobins@utm.edu, or visit sejc.org.


Pictured (l-r) at the Southeast Journalism Conference are Dr. Richard Robinson, professor of Communications and WUTM faculty adviser, Brooke Boshers, of Mt. Pleasant; Evan Parkhill, of Puryear; Jason Repath, of White House; Taylor Larson, of Covington; Antonia Steele, of Ashland City; Jillianne Moncrief, of McLemoresville; Emma Bruner, of South Fulton; Anaïs Bocher, of Orléans, France; Emily Wilson, of Lawrenceburg; Callie Dunlap, of Martin, and Tomi McCutchen, coordinator of student publications and instructor of communications.
Previous Story

Farm Credit Mid-America supports UT Martin agriculture programs

Next Story

UT Interim President Randy Boyd to host town hall meeting March 10