Members of the WestStar class of 2020 participate in a team-building exercise during their first session on the UT Martin main campus.

WestStar Leadership Program announces class of 2020

The University of Tennessee at Martin’s WestStar Leadership Program’s class of 2020 includes 29 business and education leaders from 18 West Tennessee counties. The following class participants are noted with the business or organization affiliation and home county:

  • Andy Anderson, attorney and sole practitioner at Anderson Law Office, Henderson County;
  • Jennifer Bane, executive director of the Northwest Tennessee Workforce Board, Weakley County;
  • Monte Belew, sheriff at the Henry County Sheriff’s Office, Henry County;
  • Lowell Beller, service manager of Central Distributors, Madison County;
  • Cheryl Browne, retired physician, Fayette County;
  • Jason Compton, director of operations of the West Tennessee Healthcare Sportsplex, Madison County;
  • Chris Donaldson, owner and operator of Tencom Services, Dyer County;
  • Debbie Dunaway, executive assistant for Southwest Tennessee Development District, Madison County;
  • Kyle East, financial representative with WoodmenLife & Woodmen Financial Services, Crockett County;
  • Mike Enoch, plant manager of Marvin Windows and Doors of Tennessee, Lauderdale County;
  • Norma Gerrell, director of schools for Paris Special School District, Henry County;
  • Monica Heath, interim director of the McKenzie Industrial Board, Carroll County;
  • Jessica Huff, director of tourism at McNairy County Economic Development and Chamber of Commerce, McNairy County;
  • Barry Hutcherson, mayor of Chester County, Chester County;
  • George Leake, supervisor of secondary instruction for Obion County Schools, Obion County;
  • Jamie Mantooth, executive director of enrollment services and student engagement for the University of Tennessee at Martin, Weakley County;
  • Lee Mills, captain at FedEx Express, Shelby County;
  • Victor Parkins, owner and publisher of the Gibson County Publishing Newspaper Group, Gibson County;
  • Jennifer Perryman, executive director of Savannah Industrial Development Corporation, Hardin County;
  • Jessi Pruett, attorney with Byrd and Byrd, Attorneys at Law, PLLC, Gibson County;
  • Teresa Russell, instructional coach at Haywood County Board of Education, Haywood County;
  • Shalondria Shaw, community development and engagement liaison for the city of Brownsville, Haywood County;
  • Dakota Simpson, governor’s management fellow for the state of Tennessee, Dyer County,
  • Ty Smithson, loan officer at Greenfield Banking Company, Weakley County;
  • Katelyn Spivey, marketing director at Carroll Bank and Trust, Benton County;
  • DeLaney Timberman, executive director of the Hardin County Chamber of Commerce, Hardin County;
  • Jamey Tosh, owner and partner of Tosh Farms, Henry County;
  • Wendell Wainwright, chairperson pro temp of the Fayette County Pubic Schools District, Fayette County;
  • William Wooten, president of the Wooten Law Office, LLC; Tipton County.

Participants attend a series of sessions held through June focusing on topics such as economic development, public policy, education and technology. The WestStar Leadership Program was founded at UT Martin in 1989 and is the state’s oldest and largest regional leadership program. The program equips regional leaders with new skills and knowledge designed to impact the educational, economic and social development of West Tennessee. The program also provides members with a growing network of community-minded people committed to serving the area. Dr. Charley Deal serves as WestStar executive director.

For more information about the WestStar Leadership Program, contact Virginia Grimes, program coordinator, at 731-881-7298.


Previous Story

UT Martin to host 20th-annual Civil Rights Conference

Next Story

WestTeach to host West Tennessee Education Summit on Feb. 28